2107 TRUFA Status of Women AGM Report




The Status of Women Committee has been very active this year. We have 10 active members (twice the number of last year) regularly taking on tasks for our activities.


Sponsorships for 2016-2017:

  • SoWC sponsored four attendees to the Kamloops and District Elizabeth Fry Conference.
  • SoWC member Tracy Penny Light and the Kamloops Women’s Shelter hosted the NFB film Status Quo: The unfinished business of feminism for YWCA National Week without Violence.
  • Helped nominate IDays international speaker Winona LeDuke and Patricia Soley-Beltran
  • Sponsored Kamloops Film Festival film 20th Century Women, sponsored six tickets, and contributed items for the Tampon Tuesday collection after the film.
  • Sponsored Dr. Alexis Pauline Gumbs (received funding but postponed to future date)


President’s Task Force on Prevention of Violence

  • Chelsea Corsi presented to SoWC on the grassroots actions of the President’s Sexual Assault Support and Response Task Force May 2016
  • On behalf of SoWC, committee member Natalie Clark hosted a consultation and information session on the TRU Sexual Assault Prevention Policy Oct. 20 in the TRUSU Boardroom, CAC
  • SoWC met in January with new Sexual Violence Prevention and Response Manager Amber Huva


The Shoebox Project: In conjunction with 12 other community organizations SoWC hosted the TRU contingent of Kamloops Shoebox Project on Dec 5th providing gifts to women living in shelters and accessing community services.


December 6th Memorial Luncheon: The SoWC organized a formal luncheon Tuesday, December 6th from 12-2 in the TRU Art Gallery.  It coincided with a number of activities on campus addressing sexualized violence. Approximately 24 people attended the luncheon, not as successful as last year, so we reassessed and decided to facilitate an event that is more interactive.

IWD lunch and Notable Woman Award

The Notable Woman Award is given each year by the Status of Women Committee to a faculty or staff member from TRU, UCC, and/or Cariboo College who has made a significant contribution to women’s issues at the institution. Nominations are accepted from faculty and staff of TRU. Previous winners of the award include the following: Linda Deutschmann (2013); Anne Coleman and Sharon Simpson (2014); Brigitta O’Regan and Maxine Ruvinsky (2015); Carolynne Fardy (2016). The award this year was presented to Trish Archibald at our annual luncheon celebrating International Women’s Day March 8 (held March 16 in the CAC Alpine Room)


-Respectfully submitted, Terryl Atkins, Chair, TRUFA Status of Women, Local 2


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


© 2021 TRU Talk  Brought to you by  Thompson Rivers University Faculty Association

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?